First, remain calm. Don’t get upset. Yelling will not help. The calmer you are, the better it will be.
1. Make sure that no-one is injured, that includes the other rider or driver and any passengers. If anyone is injured, don’t try to move them. Call 911 for an ambulance.
2. If non-one needs immediate medical help, get the names, addresses, phone numbers, driver’s license numbers of everyone involved and the make, model and license plate of all vehicles involved.
3. If there are any witnesses, get their names, addresses, phone numbers and driver’s license number.
4. Take photos with your phone. Be sure and get photos of any skid marks, vehicle position(s), any physical evidence and all damages to both your vehicle or motorcycle as well as the other persons.
5. Make notes which the accident is still fresh in your mind. Be sure to mark down the exact locations of the accident and include your version of what happened.
6. Under no circumstances, unless you are transported by ambulance, should you leave the scene of an accident before getting all necessary information. It is against the law and can result in serious trouble for you.
7. While you may not think you are injured, you never know. Injuries can often show up hours or even days later. You should be checked out by a doctor. If you call our office at 1-855-CzaiaLaw (292-4252), we will be pleased to recommend a doctor who specializes in injury accidents.
8. Never say that the accident was your fault or that you are sorry. If you are at fault, an investigation will prove it. However, if you say it was your fault and it actually wasn’t, making this statement can go against you.
9. Do not give any recorded statement or speak with the other party’s insurance company about your injuries or property damage until you have talked to an attorney.
10. Call our office at 1-855-CzaiaLaw (292-4252) for a FREE consultation.
Under Florida law, all drivers are required to carry “No-fault” or PIP insurance, in the amount of $10,000 to cover your own injuries and lost wages that result from auto accidents, regardless of whether the accident is your own fault or the fault of the other driver.
In 2012, the Florida legislature voted to approve new laws aimed at reducing insurance fraud in the state and did so by placing restrictions and limitations on PIP coverage. Auto insurance fraud may be a problem in Florida, however the new PIP changes address the issue by reducing benefits for everyone, not just fraudulent PIP clinics. Florida’s new Personal Injury Protection (PIP) law went into effect January 1, 2013.
Under the new PIP law you must seek medical care for injuries resulting from an auto accident within 14 days of the accident or no PIP benefits will be paid. The full $10,000 amount of PIP benefits is available to an auto accident victim only if a specific type of medical care provider listed in the provision decides that the patient has an “emergency medical condition.” If the patient cannot obtain an “emergency medical condition” diagnosis, he is entitled to only $2,500 in PIP benefits.
This cuts the funds available to many accident victims who will now be forced to rely on their own health insurance rather than the $10,000 PIP coverage that you are REQUIRED to carry in the State of Florida.
Only a medical doctor, osteopathic physician, dentist or an advanced registered nurse practitioner is allowed to make the “emergency medical condition” diagnosis. Chiropractic care will only be covered if a referral is obtained from a physician defined above.
Massage therapy and acupuncture are no longer covered under the new law. In addition, this new law does not provide coverage for a more holistic, less intrusive type of treatment.
What should you do?
If you have been injured in an accident, now more than ever, it is essential to contact an attorney immediately to protect your rights. An experienced personal injury law firm will be able to pursue your case and, if necessary, take the case to court where a jury of your peers will decide on compensation – not the insurance company. For more information or for a free consultation, contact Czaia Law by calling 1-855-CzaiaLaw (292-4252) or visit us on the web at www.CzaiaLaw.com, where Your Case is Your Voice.